10 Things That Changed When….

 

Headed into two weeks without smoking, I would have never thought I would get this far. I’ve tried to quit in the past, and it was an epic fail. Cigarettes to me became a way I relieved stress and how I got away from work at work. I would feel so good after about two or three cigarettes. The temporary high gave me such a break from work & the real world sometimes. I smoked for about 3 years before I decided to quit this time.


 

Since quitting I’ve noticed 10 Things That Have Changed For Me:

1. I can actually smell now

One of the worse things I hated about smoking was not being able to smell. Especially when eating, right before I quit I hated eating because I couldn’t smell things at all. I knew it got bad when I was in a room with my cat, and never realized she pooped on the floor until another family member entered the room. This alone let me know it was time to quit.

2. I can breathe

Smoking caused so many issues with my breathing, I often had to use my mothers inhaler just to breathe clearly. My throat was always irritated and I found myself, not sleeping well either.

3. I can taste 

I love eating & love flavor. One of the worse things about smoking for me was not having a sense of taste sometimes due to smoking so much. Since, I quite my taste buds are back and I enjoy food again.

4. My perfume last all day

My favorite perfume is I AM Juicy Couture, I bought a $100 gift set last year and I spray about three pumps everytime I wear it. It’s a light fragrance but it last throughout the day.  When smoking this only lasted until I smoked my 1st cigarette or until I got into my car which smelled of cigarettes. Now that the smoking is gone I can wear my fragrance all day & stay fresh.

5. My breath doesn’t smell horrible

I often wonder how many people smelled my breath after a cigarette and how  disgusting it must have smelled. I was always making sure to chew gum or pop a mint to make sure, but I am pretty sure someone smelled it.

6. No more yellow stains

Clean teeth have always been a big deal in our household, my teeth have always been the one thing I’ve never had issues with. Once I started smoking, I never saw stains initially. After about three months in, I saw my teeth changing color, that alone was a major reason to finally quit. Since, I have done some home remedies with baking soda to help whiten my teeth and it’s done an exceptional job.

7. The company I kept

When I finally decided to quit, I let go of all the people who I always lit up with. One in particular was the guy that introduced me to smoking cigarettes. I did myself justice by breaking ties with him and bettering myself. Some people are not ready for that journey to better and you have to leave them behind.

8. I always have extra money

I would smoke about 2 packs a week and I like the Capri cigarettes and they are about $7 without tax. I saved enough to go to Starbucks 3 times a week or almost enough for a gym membership. My pockets thank me for quitting too!

9.The way I deal with stress

I would usually go grab a cigarette at a moments stress. Mom piss me off, to the car I go to smoke two cigarettes, a customer cursed at me on the phone, next break 3 cigarettes. The guy I talked to me didn’t act right, I have a chain smoking marathon. Now, I deal with stress head on, it’s also taught me not to freak out so quick.

10. No more headaches

I had several headaches while smoking and before I started smoking never had them. Regardless of the headaches I needed that little fix. People have to understand nicotine is a real drug & it is deadly addictive.


 

Quitting was not easy for me, but I did use assistance and medication with my journey to quite. My doctor prescribed me Chantix, and it was very effective in helping me quit. It cut down so many of the side effects that came with it too. I appreciate my doctor looking out for me and actually getting me on them. They have been essential in quitting.

Leave a comment